The Men Zoo

Many a Miller, Mamet, Beckett or Pinter suffer from it, as do countless of other modern plays showing right now on Broadway and the Westend. Lack of (gender) diversity. Whatever their titles, they might as well have been called ‘heterosexual men talk about life’. Though this is being addressed in modern day theatre in many ways, theatre maker Young Jean Lee also puts her finger on the problem with her latest production. ‘Straight White Men (SWM)’ is exactly that, a play about heterosexual men talking about life. And then some.

On the surface this play is just like other plays in the genre, a straightforward (excuse the pun) family drama. SWM follows an easy enough plot. Father Ed and his three adult sons come together to celebrate Christmas. Among festive cheer, catching up, rough and tumble and a lot of food and booze they realise one of the four isn’t as happy as he purports. The play then takes a turn as the family faces a discussion about identity, privilege and ‘the value of being a straight white man’.

Building up tension throughout the piece, the drama comes to a head when the sons and the father confront Matt with some of his ‘white guilt’. All four men have chosen different paths in life and all think they know how to best cheer up Matt. Their advice however is scrutinised by Lee’s cunning dialogue and staging. It doesn’t always sound as advice, as much as excuses for living the way they do. With this play then, Lee explores what straight white men with good educations and loving families do with the knowledge their lives are basically very fortunate ones.

Inside this exploration Lee brings a few different things to the fore. First is that theatre is basically no more than a black box with people in it. Audiences get a two hour slice of real life, presented with differing levels of realism depending on the show. SWM though is almost hyper realistic. It feels much more like a living diorama than a play as the set and the acting are both frustratingly realistic. However, Lee also proves that nothing is ever easy, and that family drama cannot be resolved in two hours. The questions Matt has about life, love, family, future are left up in the air and none of the brothers nor the father really has the answer. This way SWM leaves the audience with a rather pessimistic feeling on leaving the theatre. Perhaps an introspective glance is in order, are we all Straight White Men and do we use bad excuses to rationalise our privilege? Are we aware of our good fortune? Maybe all we can do is wait till Christmas and have our own little family dramas to find out.

Seen on 17-10 at Kaaitheater

Tags from the story
,
Written By

I'm a Dutch writer/poet/walnut eater living in Brussels. I enjoy theatre. Playing, writing, watching, reviewing it. I have no children, no dogs but I do have a set of dead cactuses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Men Zoo

Qu’il s’agisse de pièces modernes, de Miller, Mamet, Beckett ou Pinter ou d’autres pièces jouées à Broadway ou dans le Westend londonien, le constat est le même : manque de diversité (des genres). Quels que soient leurs titres, elles pourraient tout aussi bien s’appeler « des hommes hétérosexuels parlent de la vie ». Même si le théâtre moderne traite de ce sujet de bien des façons, la créatrice de théâtre Young Jean Lee met également le doigt sur le problème avec sa nouvelle production. C’est exactement ce qu’est ‘Straight White Men (SWM)’ : une pièce sur des hommes hétérosexuels parlant de la vie, et plus.

On pourrait penser que cette pièce est comme les autres pièces du genre, un simple drame familial. L’intrigue de SWM est plutôt simple : le père, Ed, et ses trois fils adultes se réunissent pour fêter Noël. Au milieu des réjouissances, des retrouvailles, des plaisanteries et bavardages, d’une grande quantité de nourriture et d’alcool, ils réalisent que l’un d’eux quatre n’est pas si heureux qu’il le prétend. La pièce prend alors un tournant, la famille engageant une discussion sur l’identité, le privilège et la « valeur d’être un homme blanc hétérosexuel ».

Le drame créant une tension tout au long de la pièce arrive à son paroxysme lorsque le père et les fils confrontent Matt à sa « culpabilité blanche ». Les quatre hommes ont choisi des chemins différents et tous pensent savoir comment réconforter Matt. Leurs conseils sont examinés à la lumière de dialogues et d’une mise en scène roués. Les conseils prodigués semblent être des excuses de chacun des hommes pour expliquer leur mode de vie. Avec cette pièce, Lee examine donc ce que les hommes blancs hétérosexuels bien éduqués et entourés de familles aimantes font de la conscience que leurs vies sont en fait très aisées.

Au cours de cette introspection, la créatrice de théâtre met en lumière différents éléments. Premièrement, le théâtre n’est en fait qu’une boîte noire qui contient des êtres humains. Le public voit une tranche de vie de deux heures, présentée avec différents degrés de réalisme en fonction du spectacle. Cependant, SWM est presque hyper réaliste. On a presque l’impression de voir un diorama vivant plutôt qu’une pièce, le décor et le jeu étant tous deux d’un réalisme frustrant. Lee prouve toutefois que rien n’est jamais facile et qu’un drame familial ne peut pas être résolu en deux heures. Les questions que Matt se pose sur la vie, l’amour, la famille, le futur sont laissées en suspens et ni les autres frères ni le père n’ont vraiment de réponse. SWM laisse donc le public quitter le théâtre empreint d’un sentiment plutôt pessimiste. Une introspection s’impose : sommes-nous tous des Straight White Men et utilisons-nous des mauvaises excuses pour rationnaliser nos privilèges ? Sommes-nous conscients de la chance que nous avons ? Pour  répondre à ces questions, attendons la prochaine réunion de famille et son lot de petits drames familiaux…

Vu le 17.10 au Kaaitheater

Traduit de l’article The Men Zoo écrit par Mixy

Tags from the story

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *