Walk off the Earth

If you like cover bands, you must know Walk off the Earth. But, actually, even if you don’t, you still should watch their stuff. ‘Cause what they do is pretty amazing. And I can tell you I’m not quickly amazed when it comes to pop music.

Composed by 5 Canadians (4 guys and 1 woman), the band exists since 2006. However they really started being famous all over the world with their tribute to Gotye and his song Somebody that I used to know in 2012.

More than a cover, it’s actually a performance and the Youtube community didn’t take long to discover it and spread it to the word. The video has now more than 170,352,734 views and before telling you more about it, I suggest you watch it to get why it was such a success…

After watching this video (also well-named “5 peeps and a guitar”), you can’t deny it : they’re awesomely talented, aren’t they? Okay maybe i’m a bit exaggerating but still: they sing well, they’re inventive and they’re so much more organised and synchronised that I’ll ever be that it is hard not to be impressed.

Since then, they’ve made a lot of covers. It’s always the same concept: low budget videos, small spaces, a few instruments, a lot of objects used as instruments, powerful voices and a lot of creativity

Like this song from Lorde:

Or this one from Weeknd using a new instrument called Harpejji :

They really have their own style and their songs are always a mix of alternative rock, ska, and reggae music so they can even make you love songs you didn’t even like the original. For instance, I find their version of Cheerleader and Shake it off even better than OMI and Taylor Swift’s version.

And, last but not least, the very new and incredible Hello from Adele with Myles and Isaac:

Of course, you may dislike their music, style or voices but as I told you before, it’s almost impossible not to be impressed by them employing such a great ingenuity all the time.

They now have a new album Sing it all away and start a new tour in March. Unfortunately, they only have one gig planned in France (in Arras on the 2nd of July) and nothing in Belgium. But maybe if we all like their Facebook page, they will consider visiting our beautiful country, who knows ?

Anyway, if you like them, there are plenty of videos on Youtube you should watch ! And let’s hope they’ll keep on making these wonderful covers… ‘Cause It would be such a pity if they won’t !

Tags from the story
Written By

I'm always curious about new things, I love learning and I'm a creative person. That means I need to use my creativity to feel good and happy. That's why I've created Culture Remains and my other website, Naïra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Walk Off The Earth

Si vous aimez les groupes de reprise, vous devez connaître Walk off the Earth. Si ce n’est pas le cas, allez les découvrir, ce qu’ils font est plutôt surprenant. Et ce n’est pas une mince affaire de me surprendre lorsqu’il s’agit de musique pop.

Le groupe, composé de 5 Canadiens (4 hommes et 1 femme), existe depuis 2006. Ils ne sont cependant mondialement connus que depuis leur hommage à Gotye et sa chanson Somebody that I used to know en 2012.

Plus qu’une reprise, c’est une prestation. La communauté Youtube n’a pas tardé à le découvrir et à se passer le mot. La vidéo a désormais plus de 170 352 734 vues et avant de vous en dire plus, je vous propose de la visionner pour comprendre pourquoi elle a eu un tel succès…

Après avoir vu cette vidéo (également intitulée « 5 peeps and a guitar »), force est de constater que ce groupe a un talent monstre, non? D’accord, peut-être que j’exagère un peu mais quand même : ils chantent bien, sont pleins d’imagination, sont bien plus organisés que je ne le serai jamais et ont un sens du rythme sans pareil. Tant et si bien qu’il est difficile de ne pas être impressionnée.

Ils ont depuis fait de nombreuses reprises, toujours avec le même concept : vidéos à petit budget, espaces restreints, quelques instruments, beaucoup d’objets utilisés comme instruments, des voix puissantes et beaucoup de créativité…

Ecoutez donc cette reprise de Lorde:

Ou cette reprise de Weeknd avec un nouvel instrument, le Harpejji :

Walk off the earth a vraiment son propre style; leurs chansons sont toujours un mélange entre rock alternatif, ska et reggae. Ils peuvent même vous pondre des chansons d’amour dont vous n’aimiez pas forcément la version originale. Par exemple, je trouve leur version de Cheerleader ou Shake it off plus réussie que les versions d’OMI ou Taylor Swift.

Et, cerise sur le gâteau, le  Hello d’Adele en compagnie de Myles et Isaac :

Bien sûr, vous pouvez ne pas aimer la musique, le style ou les voix des membres de Walk off the earth, mais il est impossible de ne pas être impressionné par leur grande ingéniosité au fil des morceaux.

Ils ont sorti leur nouvel album Sing it all away et ont lancé une tournée en mars. Ils n’ont malheureusement qu’une date prévue en France (Arras le 2 juillet) et aucune en Belgique. Mais peut-être que si nous aimons tous leur page Facebook, ils penseront à venir dans notre beau pays, qui sait ?

Bref, si vous appréciez ce qu’ils font, on trouve de nombreuses vidéos sur Youtube, pensez à aller y faire un tour ! Et espérons qu’ils continuent à produire ces superbes reprises… Ce serait vraiment dommage qu’ils arrêtent !

Traduit de l’article Walk off the Earth écrit par Carole

Tags from the story

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *